Limits on Foreign Property Purchase

Danmart57
Posted
Posted

Newbie here, looking to get SRRV and acquire a home next year.

1 - Is it true I can only buy a condominium not a house?

2 - How many years do I have to have a long-term house rental as per SRRV rules?

Thanks

Dan

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted (edited)

Welcome to the forum Dan. Pleased to have you.  :tiphat:

Have you ever visited the Philippines?

Yes. In many cases you may own a condo as a non Filipino citizen.

Do you have a Filipina girl friend or wife? This would affect long-term rental and how long you would be allowed to stay. 

It's also within the law to lease land as a non Filipino citizen and build a house on that land.

Edited by Old55
  • Like 2

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted
44 minutes ago, Danmart57 said:

Newbie here, looking to get SRRV and acquire a home next year.

1 - Is it true I can only buy a condominium not a house?

2 - How many years do I have to have a long-term house rental as per SRRV rules?

Thanks

Dan

To answer your question. No, you can not own land here in your name as it's against the law, You can own a structure on the land.

So yes you can buy a condo and that's it as long as the building is 60 percent owned by Filipinos. 

Long term lease as per SRRV rules I believe is 50 years but check that.

• Like 2

Danmart57
Posted
Posted

JGF Thanks for the info.

1 - So, it seems it could be worked out for a long-time friend to buy a Property and I build/own the house. In short , some type of dual ownership contract, right?

2 - Is it also workable to buy a house where it gets written up as a split ownership to that effect?

Danmart57
Posted
Posted

Old55 - I have a non-Filipino wife, so I understand that adds limitations.

I am further intrigued by your comment “with the law…to lease the land” from a Filipino to build a house. I really want to explore that possibility.

Will need to find a recommended RE lawyer.

Thanks,

Dmart

• Like 1

• Forum Support
Old55