Marine Corps veteran is kicked off Delta aircraft over 'threatening' T-shirt

Lee
Posted
Posted

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13977447/Passenger-kicked-Delta-flight-T-shirt-Catherine-Banks-San-Francisco-California.html?ito=native_share_article-nativemenubutton

A California veteran was booted off a Delta Air Lines flight because her T-shirt that featured a message about veteran suicide rates in the U.S.

Catherine Banks was supposed to fly out of San Francisco on Wednesday, but instead she was forced off the plane by a flight attendant who found her shirt 'threatening.'

The shirt read: 'Do not give in to the war within. End veteran suicide.'

The shirt read: 'Do not give in to the war within. End veteran suicide.'

But it wasn't until she disembarked and stood on the jet bridge that the attendant told her why she was asked to get off the plane.

'He said that shirt you're wearing is threatening,' Banks told NBC. 

'I said, "Are you kidding me? I'm a Marine Corps vet. I'm going to see my Marine sister. I'm going to see my Marine sister. I've been in the Marine Corps for 22 years and worked for the Air Force for 15 years. I'm going to visit her."'

But the flight attendant was unmoved by Banks' service record.

'He said, "I don't care about your service, and I don't care about her service. The only way you're going to get back on the plane is if you take it off right now."'

Banks called the experience 'humiliating' and the incident delayed the flight 

Because she wasn't wearing a bra, Banks had to turn her back to the flight attendant while she put on her sweatshirt. 

When the Marine Corps vet was finally let back on the plane, she was not allowed sit in the extra-legroom seat for which she had paid an extra fee.

Instead, she was instructed to sit in the back of the plane. 

The flight was delayed, which caused Banks to miss her connecting flight. 

Banks called the experience 'humiliating.'